Golden, Delicious: Meyer Lemon Marmalade

I stuffed as many Meyer lemons into my suitcase on my return from California as I possibly could. In fact, I even left some clothes and shoes at my sister’s just to give me more room. I LOVE Meyer lemons! I might just have to plan an annual December/January trip to California just to stock up on them. Or else move.

This is the second year in a row that I’ve made Meyer lemon marmalade with lemons brought back from California. It’s great on toast, waffles, biscuits, scones, ice cream, donuts, bananas, cereal, ham & cheese sandwiches, the Sunday Times crossword puzzle, tax returns and almost anything else you can think of. It takes a lot of lemons to make just a little marmalade and, somehow, no matter how much you make, it never lasts more than a couple weeks at best. This year, I’ve taken to hiding jars around the house in the hopes of making it last into the spring at least.

The recipe comes straight from Blue Ribbon Preserves by Linda J. Amendt. It’s a bit time consuming to make, but it’s well worth the effort.

Meyer Lemon Marmalade

Meyer Lemon Marmalade
makes about 6 half-pint jars

1 cup zested or thinly sliced Meyer lemon peel
1 cup water
1/2 cup strained fresh Meyer lemon juice
1 cup water
1/8 teaspoon baking soda
2 1/2 cups supremed and finely chopped lemon segments plus enough reserved juice to equal 3 cups (16 to 20 Meyer lemons, depending on size)
5 cups sugar
1/2 teaspoon unsalted butter
1 (3-ounce) pouch of liquid pectin

In a small bowl, combine the peel and 1 cup water. Let soak for 10 minutes. drain the peel and discard the water.

In an 8-quart pan, combine the peel with the lemon juice, 1 cup water and baking soda. Over medium-high heat, bring to a full boil. Reduce the heat, cover and simmer for 10 minutes, stirring occasionally. Stir in the fruit. Cover and simmer 10 minutes more.

Remove the cover and stir in the sugar and butter. Heat, stirring constantly, until the sugar is completely dissolved.

Increase the heat to medium-high and bring the mixture to a full rolling boil, stirring constantly. Stir in the entire contents of the pectin pouch. Return the mixture to a full rolling boil, stirring constantly. Boil for 1 minute. Remove the pan from the heat and skim off any foam.

To prevent floating fruit, allow the marmalade to cool 5 minutes before filling jars. Gently stir the marmalade to distribute the fruit and ladle the marmalade into hot jars, leaving 1/4-inch headspace. Wipe the jar rims and threads with a clean, damp cloth. Cover with hot lids and apply screw rings. Process half-pint jars in a 200 degree F water bath for 10 minutes, pint jars for 15 minutes.

13 Responses to Golden, Delicious: Meyer Lemon Marmalade

  1. vegandiva says:

    Wow, the marmalade looks wonderful. Also wanted to mention the Chicago Tribune’s Food section the other day had a whole article about exotic citrus fruits and one of the items mentioned was Buddha’s Hand. I wouldn’t have known about it beforehand had I not read about it on your blog first.

  2. Dr. Mabuse says:

    I saw Meyer lemons for the first time in the grocery store today, and got a small bag. I think I’ll go back tomorrow and get some more, and then try out your recipe. It looks delicious, and I can’t wait to see how it turns out!

  3. Dr. Mabuse says:

    I made it today, and it turned out beautifully! Very tart and zingy, and a lovely golden colour. I’ve got a picture of it up at my blog here. Thanks for the great recipe!

  4. Lisa says:

    I believe that this is the recipe that I use. I have the book, but need to check to confirm. I am very lucky, I live in Pasadena, CA and we currently have Meyers at our local farmer’s market. I have two friends with trees as well, so I will be getting a lot of them and the marmalade is a definite favorite! Thanks for posting!

  5. […] all the bread-baking I’ve been doing lately and the Meyer lemon marmalade almost gone, I decided I needed to make some more jam. And with so much sourdough around, […]

  6. Karen Morss says:

    If you ever need some fresh meyer lemons, I have an orchard with 40 trees! You can buy our lemons at http://www.lemonladies.com I promise they are the sweetest, most beautiful Meyer lemons you have ever tasted. And we are an organic grower! Thanks

  7. Marilyn Alexander says:

    Does anyone know what the purpose of the baking soda is? I have been researching recipes on line, and some of them do not call for that ingredient. A friend and I are planning a marmalade day with her Meyer lemons.

  8. Jillian says:

    The purpose of the baking soda, I believe, is to soften the rind of the fruit.

  9. Richard Lock says:

    This recipe is unnecessarily complicated and too sweet: all you need is 3lbs lemons, 3 lbs sugar and about 8 cups of water — no soda, no butter, and above all NO ADDED PECTIN. L:et’s get natural here. If you want the technical details about making marmalade, let me know — I’ve been doing it for years and I’m 74!
    RL

  10. Dr. Tom says:

    I agree with Richard, I make several batches of Meyer Lemon Marmalade each year (I’m in Florida) and never use any thing but lemons and sugar: I even skip the water, just boil the chopped fruit until it jells, then put up in jars.

  11. Chicago says:

    Party Bus…

    […]Golden, Delicious: Meyer Lemon Marmalade « Wait-and-See Pudding[…]…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

