In Defense of Cupcakes

Yes, cupcakes are all the rage these days and this is both a blessing and a curse. All those chic and cutesy little cupcake-only bake shops sprouting up here and there (though not yet in Maine, to my knowledge) have delivered the discriminating among us from those boxed cake-mix confections our well-intentioned co-workers offer up on holidays and birthdays or worse (shudder), those spongey, fakey grocery store yuck-bombs that, admit it, we’ve ALL resorted to at least once in an emergency.

And yet, just as it is with any popular bandwagon you might unwittingly find yourself riding, the cupcake’s swooning popularity feels a bit sour. Here come the passionless opportunists churning out cheap knock-offs, cloaked in fancy packaging with bright colors. Here come the big brands with their over-marketed offerings, direct from the factory farm to the factory baking facility to the supermarket. Here come the legions of semi-homemade suburban mom’s who dutifully do and seek out and consume whatever it is they see on TV. “Yummo!”

Yucko.

Quite a lot has been written about cupcakes lately – from fans and detractors alike. I was aware of it, the way I’m aware of the bickering of crows on my early morning walks with the dog. It was just so much ugly noise. And then I found a recent article in the New York Times about cupcakes and I couldn’t ignore the din any more. I had to add my own voice.

After a bit of background on the fight in some school districts to ban cupcakes over concerns about the amount of sugar and fat in the diets of American children, the author observes that all this cultural agonizing over cupcakes, “has led some to wonder whether emotional value, on occasion, might legitimately outweigh nutritional value.”

Yes.

When you serve cupcakes, everyone is special. A cupcake is a gift, neatly and deliciously wrapped. And everyone at the party gets one. You don’t share a cupcake (unless you’re weird). And you don’t have to wait awkwardly while uneven and imperfect slices are passed around the table (“I only want a little sliver!” “No, no. I couldn’t possibly eat that much!”). Cupcakes are democratic. They’re the sort of simple indulgence that still feels decadent. This is why I love cupcakes.

My parents were macro-biotics when I was growing up. And I hated it – something in me knew better. I remember being in my grandmother’s kitchen watching her make dinner and asking why she and my grandfather didn’t eat the way we did. Her response has stuck with me ever since. She said, “your grandfather and I believe that everything is okay, in moderation.”

Even cupcakes.

3 Responses to In Defense of Cupcakes

  1. rhea says:

    Thanks for the post. I love cupcakes. If you get the chance, stop by Magnolia Bakery in Manhattan on 401 Bleeker St. I’m from Colorado, and was sent there by a cousin while I was in town. I got there around midnight and they had just closed, but a very kind employee boxed up 4 leftover cupcakes and gave them to me. They were hands-down the best cupcakes I’ve ever encountered!

  2. zeldawilliams says:

    Great post! I’m a fan myself, though one too many will turn anyone’s stomach, but another upside of the new craze the wealth of new recipes online for cupcakes and other baking goods I can make for friends who are vegan. Before now, I’d never even hoped to figure out how to make that sort of thing delicious :)

  3. rev. k says:

    Being a cupcake fan, I Loved your rant. I was not aware of the cupcake craze going across the mainland. I have realized, to my utter delight (most of the time), fads rarely make the 3,000 mile trek across the ocean to land on this island. But due to your post, I have been inspired! I hope my neighbors like cupcakes ’cause they are a comin’!!!

    ps
    don’t let this deter you from sending some of your own baked goodness out here.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

